Sam Price


Originally from Slidell LA, Sam studied jazz and music performance at the University of New Orleans. He became interested in Cuban music and played bass in various N.O.-area Latin bands until finally forming his own award-winning Afro-Cuban jazz group- 'OTRA' in 1999. When Hurricane Katrina forced the evacuation of the city in 2005, Sam met up with fellow New Orleans musicians living in San Francisco, and together they created the Honey Island Swamp Band. Over the past 12 years HISB has become a beloved New Orleans 'Bayou Americana' band, and a successful national and international touring act. Over the years Sam has been writing his own original music and in December 2015, assembled a group of young musicians to perform his songs. Sam Price & the True Believers released their debut EP in 2017, which won Offbeat Magazine's 'Best Roots Rock Album' of the year. They are currently working on a follow up full-length album, produced by Papa Mali and funded in part with a Threaded Cultural Foundation grant.

Aaron Barker Nicole Bennett Nick Biebricher Jared Blake Jack Bond Shawn Bowling Thom Bresh Melissa Bret Brooke Brown Anne Buckle Donna Britton Bukevicz Tim Buppert Jeremy Bussey Dani Carroll Kim Carson Hope Cassity Col (R) Jill Chambers, Tim Chandler Chloe Channell Ruell Chappell Christina Christian Ashton Clark Pearl Clarkin Kensie Coppin Greg Crowe Daryl Wayne Dasher Dan Demay Daniel Demay Doucet & Quintana Billy Ryan Droze Lynn Drury Hannah Ellis Kylie Nicole Feltenberger Adrienne Follese Keith Follese' Chris Gantry Sean Gasaway Dave Gibson Tiffany Goss Angela Hacker Tommy Ike Hailey Whit Hill Faith Jess Andi Zack Johnson Ken Johnson Nicole Johnson Jason Justice Lauren Kay Josh Kerr Jill Kinsey Goldie Lahr Joe Leathers James LeBlanc Shelby Leeann Colleen Lloy Quinn Loggins Brigitte London Mike Loudermilk Makenna/Brock Glenn Martin Shane Martin Troy Martin Jim McCormick Mark McGuinn Chris Meyers Ronny Miller Tony Montgomery Alissa Moreno Mark Narmore Bernie Nelson Nouveaux Honkies Ross Orenstein Chad Austin Parker Jim Pasquale Michael Peterson (Alabama) Michael Peterson II Elaine Petty Ricky Lee Phelps Sam Price Suzi Ragsdale Jessie Lynn Ritter Nathan Robinson Ami Gussie Russ Sailor Jerri Pete Sallis Joel Shewmake Jeff Silvey Donna Slater CJ Solar Jonmark Stone Sugarcane Jane Kevin Swanson Rusty Tabor Payton Taylor The Wilson Brothers Vickie Truett Rick Uzdevenus Jerry Vandiver Stephen Veal Amanda Walker Matt Warren Nick Wayne Robert Wayne Wayward Jones Tris Weeks Brian White Phillip White Matthew Williams Xaris